⚠   Notice – The latest updates on the evolving COVID-19 policies and resources for the campus community
COVID 19 - Related Financial Aid Updates

Contact Us |  

Search form


Prizes and Honors / Owen D. Young Prize in International Relations

Description. The Owen D. Young Prize in International Relations is awarded for the best essay dealing with some aspect of international relations. A minimum of 4,000 words is required with a maximum word limit of 5,000 words. Open to undergraduates only.

History of the Prize. From the Regents' Minutes of October 10, 1933: "Mr. Owen D. Young delivered the Charter Day Address in Berkeley on March 24, 1930, returned to the Regents his honorarium as such speaker and in addition donated the sum of $250. This was intended to be used for three prizes ... to undergraduate students registered in the colleges at Berkeley ... who offered the best three essays on the topic, 'What can a college student do to further good understanding among the nations and thereby promote peace?' Mr. Young, on June 2, 1931, [amended] the conditions of this ... contest, [whereby] the remainder of his donation, to wit, $900, be set up as a permanent fund, the income therefrom to be devoted to an annual prize for the best essay on some aspect of international relations. The Committee on Prizes is authorized to change the topic of the essay from time to time as they may see fit to do so." The Owen D. Young Prize was established in 1958.

Please review the General Rules for Competitive Prizes.

Contest deadlines vary. Please check the Prizes and Honors home page for this prize's deadline.

Previous Winners 

2019-20: Rosemary Yin ($1500) 

2018-19: Will Alexander and Kevin Klyman ($700 each)

2017-18: 1st prize: Sarah O'Farrell ($700); 2nd prize: Justin DesRochers and Janani Mohan ($350 each)

2016-17: Suleman Khan ($1,000)

2015-16: Madison Chapman and William Michael Morrow ($750 each)

2014-15: Cameron Silverberg ($1,500)

2013-14: Caroline McCloskey ($1,500)

2012-13: Michelle Chern ($1,500)

2011-12: Maya Yizhaky ($1,500)

2010-11: Lauren Benichou ($1,500)

2009-10: Kenneth Tsang ($1,500)

2008-09: Timothy Barry ($1,500)

2007-08: No award given

2006-07: Ben Narodick ($1,200)

2005-06: Helen Hsueh ($1,200)

2004-05: No award given

2003-04: Miya Keren ($500)

2002-03: Jeff Lindemyer ($500)

2001-02: Albert Ofrecio ($500)

2000-01: No award given

1999-00: Daniel Ho ($500)

1998-99: Christopher Maier ($500)

1997-98: No entries received