⚠   Notice – The latest updates on the evolving COVID-19 policies and resources for the campus community
COVID 19 - Related Financial Aid Updates

Contact Us |  

Search form


Prizes and Honors / Nicola de Lorenzo Prize in Music Composition

Description. The Nicola De Lorenzo Prize in Music Composition is awarded for the best original completed musical composition. The prize competition is open to both graduate and undergraduate students of any major. The composition is required to be a piece composed during your matriculation at UC Berkeley. Submit a score and, if possible, a recording of the composition. For music that is not notated (such as fixed media pieces, improvised performances, and so on), submit a recording with a note about the work and why it is not notated. All entries need to be anonymous—your name should not appear on recordings or scores.

History. The Nicola De Lorenzo Prize in Music Composition was established in 1958.

Please review the General Rules for Competitive Prizes.

Contest deadlines vary. Please check the Prizes and Honors home page for this prize's deadline.

Previous Winners

2019-20: Hwa-Chan Yu, Maija Hynninen, James Stone, Curtis Dahn ($1125)

2018-19: Selim Goncu, James Stone, Clara Olivares, Jeremy Wexler, Maija Hynninen ($1000)

2017-18:Oren Boneh, Selim Goncu, Antonio Juan Marcos Cavazos, Trevor Van de Velde ($1000)

2016-17:1st Prize: Lily Chen ($1,200); 2nd Prize: Scott Rubin,Selim Gonchu ($800); 3rd Prize: Kayla Cashetta ($700)

2015-16: 1st prize: Antonio Juan-Marcos Cavazos ($1,000); 2nd prize: Ursula Kwong-Brown, Jeremy Wexler, Hwa-Chan Yu, and Zhoushu Herakleitos Ziporyn ($500); 3rd prize: Kayla Cashetta, and Scott Rubin ($250)

2014-15: 1st prize: Amadeus Regucera ($2,500); 2nd prize: Lily Chen ($1,000)

2013-14: 1st prize: Lily Chen ($1,750); 2nd prize: Amadeus Regucera ($1,250); 3rd prize: Andrew V. Ly ($500)

2012-13: 1st prize: Matthew Schumaker ($3,000); 2nd prize: Thatchatham Silsupan ($1,000); 3rd prize: Jose Rafael Valle Gomes da Costa ($500)

2011-12: 1st prize: Javier Jimmy Lopez and Amadeus Regucera ($1,300 each); 2nd prize: Thatchatam Silsupan, Matthew Goodheart, and Sivan Eldar ($800 each)

2010-11: 1st prize: Javier Jimmy Lopez ($1,000); 2nd prize: David Coll, Robin Estrada, Jen Wang, Daniel Cullen ($750 each); 3rd prize: Nils Bultmann, Matt Schumaker ($500 each)

2009-10: 1st prize: Amadeus Regucera ($2,000); 2nd prize: Evelyn Ficarra and Heather Frasch ($1,200 each); 3rd prize: Gabrielle Angeles ($600)

2008-09: 1st prize: Matthew Goodheart ($2,000); 2nd prize Amadeus Regucera, David Coll and Robin Estrada ($1,000 each)

2007-08: 1st prize: Robert Yamasato and Heather Frasch ($2,000 each); 2nd prize: Jimmy Lopez ($1,000)

2006-07: 1st prize: Aaron Einbond, Robert Yamasato, and Mason Bates ($1,666 each)

2005-06: 1st prize: Mason Bates and Aaron Einbond ($2,500 each)

2004-05: 1st prize: Yiorgos Vassilandonakis and Mason Bates ($2,000 each); 2nd prize: Aaron Einbond ($1,000)

2003-04: 1st prize: Fernando Benadon ($750); 2nd prize: Jean Ahn, David Bithell and Brian Kane ($250 each)

2002-03: 1st prize: Reynold Tharp ($750) and Mason Bates ($750)

2001-02: 1st prize: Keeril Makan ($750); 2nd prize: Mason Bates, Brian Kane, and Philipp Blume ($250 each)

2000-01: No award given

1999-00: 1st prize: Brian Current ($700); 2nd prize: Fernando Benadon, Dmitri Tymoczko, and Michael Zbyszyriski ($600 each)

1998-99: 1st prize: Fernando Benadon, Brian Current, Keeril Makan, and Dmitri Tymoczko ($500 each)

1997-98: 1st prize: Eitan Steinberg ($800); 2nd prize: Keeril Makan ($700); 3rd prize: Reynold Tharp ($500)