Contact Us |  

Search form


Prizes and Honors / Thomas G. Rosenmeyer Greek Translation Prize

Description. The Thomas G. Rosenmeyer Greek Translation Prize is awarded to a graduate or undergraduate for the best translation of classical English into an appropriate classical Greek style. Appropriate styles include those of Plato and of the classical Attic orators, but other styles appropriate to the content are not excluded, such as the style of Herodotus, or even verse composition. The selection will normally be formal English prose and will be 350 to 500 words in length. 

History. The Rosenmeyer Prize was established in 1995.

Please review the General Rules for Competitive Prizes

Contest deadlines vary. Please check the Prizes and Honors home page for this prize's deadline.

Thomas G. Rosenmeyer Greek Translation Prize Passage 2017-18

We are a people in a quandary about the present. We are a people in search of our future. We are a people in search of a national community. We are a people trying not only to solve the problems of the present, unemployment, inflation, but we are attempting on a larger scale to fulfill the promise of America. We are attempting to fulfill our national purpose, to create and sustain a society in which all of us are equal. Throughout our history, when people have looked for new ways to solve their problems and to uphold the principles of this nation, many times they have turned to political parties. They have often turned to the Democratic Party. What is it? What is it about the Democratic Party that makes it the instrument the people use when they search for ways to shape their future? Well, I believe the answer to that question lies in our concept of governing. Our concept of governing is derived from our view of people. It is a concept deeply rooted in a set of beliefs firmly etched in the national conscience of all of us. Now what are these beliefs? First, we believe in equality for all and privileges for none. This is a belief that each American, regardless of background, has equal standing in the public forum -- all of us. Because we believe this idea so firmly, we are an inclusive rather than an exclusive party. Let everybody come. I think it no accident that most of those immigrating to America in the 19th century identified with the Democratic Party. We are a heterogeneous party made up of Americans of diverse backgrounds. We believe that the people are the source of all governmental power; that the authority of the people is to be extended, not restricted. This can be accomplished only by providing each citizen with every opportunity to participate in the management of the government. They must have that, we believe. We believe that the government which represents the authority of all the people, not just one interest group, but all the people, has an obligation to actively seek to remove those obstacles which would block individual achievement—obstacles emanating from race, sex, economic condition. The government must remove them, seek to remove them. We are a party of innovation. We do not reject our traditions, but we are willing to adapt to changing circumstances, when change we must. We are willing to suffer the discomfort of change in order to achieve a better future. We have a positive vision of the future founded on the belief that the gap between the promise and reality of America can one day be finally closed. We believe that.

Previous Winners

2017-18: Daniel Squire ($1,000)

2016-17: Daniel Squire ($1,400)

2015-16: Michael Zellmann-Rohrer ($1,000)

2014-15: 1st prize: Tom Recht ($750); 2nd prize: Michael Zellman-Rohrer ($250)

2013-14: Tom Recht and Michael Zellmann-Rohrer ($500 each)

2012-13: Tom Recht and Michael Zellmann-Rohrer ($500 each)

2011-12: Tom Recht ($700); Michael Zellmann-Rohrer ($300)

2010-11: Tom Recht and Michael Zellmann-Rohrer ($500 each)

2009-10: Tom Recht ($1,000)

2008-09: Boris Rodin ($750); Honorable Mention: Joel Street ($250)

2007-08: Nardini Pandey ($500)

2006-07: Boris Rodin Maslov ($500)

2005-06: Boris Rodin Maslov ($500)

2004-05: Boris Rodin ($500)

2003-04: William Michael Short ($500)

2002-03: Jon Christopher Geissmann ($500)

2001-02: W. H. Shearin ($500)

2000-01: Dylan Sailor ($500)

1999-00: Dylan Sailor ($500)

1998-99: Dylan Sailor ($500)

1997-98: Dylan Sailor ($500)