⚠   Notice – The latest updates on the evolving COVID-19 policies and resources for the campus community
COVID 19 - Related Financial Aid Updates

Contact Us |  

Search form


Prizes and Honors / Philo Sherman Bennett Prize in Political Science

Description. The Philo Sherman Bennett Prize in Political Science is awarded for the best essay encompassing some aspect of politics other than international relations. The prize is open to both graduates and undergraduates.

History of the Prize. Philo Sherman Bennett's 1905 will stated: "I give and bequeath to Wm. J. Bryan of Lincoln the sum of ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00), in trust, however, to pay to twenty-five colleges or universities, to be selected by him, the sum of four hundred ($400.00) each, said sum of four hundred dollars ($400.00) to be invested by each college receiving the same and the annual proceeds used for a prize for the best essay discussing the principal of free government."

The Regents Minutes of August 8, 1905 recite the following: "Mr. Wm. Jennings Bryan informed the University that he was glad to leave the decision by the college authorities the details of the Bennett Essay Prize..."

Contest deadlines vary. Please check the Prizes and Honors home page for this prize's deadline.

Please review the General Rules for Competitive Prizes.

Previous Winners

2019-20: Shterna Friedman and Julia Goddard ($2250 each) 

2018-19: Shterna Friedman ($4500)

2017-18: Kristin Zuhone ($1000)

2016-17: No prize awarded

2015-16: Jeremy Cynamon ($1,000)

2014-15: Jeremy Cynamon ($1,000)

2013-14: Samuel Garrett Zeitlin ($1,000)

2012-13: Samuel Garrett Zeitlin ($1,000)

2011-12: Jeremy Pilaar ($1,000)

2010-11: Sang-Hwa Sara Lee and Alyssa Beltran ($500 each)

2009-10: Huan Gao and Mikhail Guttentag ($500 each)

2008-09: Daniel Katz ($1,000)

2007-08: Daniel Katz ($1,000 )

2006-07: Nan Zhang ($1,000)

2005-06: Caitlin Rose Fox-Hodess ($1,000)

2004-05: Caitlin Rose Fox-Hodess ($1,000)

2003-04: No award given

2002-03: No award given

2001-02: Anthony Chen ($1,000)

2000-01: Tony Chen ($2,000)

1999-00: Robert S. Taylor ($1,500)

1998-99: Daniel Ho ($1,000)

1997-98: James Abrams ($1,000)