⚠   Notice – The latest updates on the evolving COVID-19 policies and resources for the campus community
COVID 19 - Related Financial Aid Updates

Contact Us |  

Search form


Prizes and Honors / Anne and Benjamin Goor Prize in Jewish Studies

Description. The Anne and Benjamin Goor Prize in Jewish Studies will award up to four prizes anually for the best undergraduate and graduate essays on research in any area of Jewish Studies. Creative works are not eligible. The essays must have been written after the previous year's submission deadline and must have been written while the authors are registered students in good standing at UC Berkeley. For those years in which one or more prizes are not awarded, the prize money shall be made available for prize augmentation or additional prizes in another year, as recommended by the judges. There may be no more than two winning submissions by a single student.

History of the Prize. The Benjamin Goor Prize in Jewish Studies was established in 1977 in memory of Benjamin Goor by his wife, Anne, to support programs and research in Jewish Studies.  In 2005, upon the occasion of Anne’s death, the prize was renamed the Anne and Benjamin Goor Prize in Jewish Studies.  Anne and Benjamin Goor were an integral part of the Jewish community in Phoenix, during and after World War II. During the war, their home was a kosher Shabbat and Passover haven for servicemen stationed at nearby bases. Anne was active in synagogue activities, B'nai B'rith Women, and Hadassah, serving as chapter president. She received many awards for her contributions to these organizations.

Please review the General Rules for Competitive Prizes.

Contest deadlines vary. Please check the Prizes and Honors home page for this prize's deadline.

Previous Winners

2019-20: Chloe Piazza, graduate winner and Walker Laughlin, undergraduate winner ($2,000)

2018-19: Yael Segalovits Eshel and Jennifer Stover-Kemp ($1,500); Gilad Barach, Sarah Goldwasser, and Andrew Kuznetsov ($1,000)

2017-18: Zachary Handler, Alexis Polevoi, Alan Elbaum, Sheer Ganor ($1,500)

2016-17: Balark Mallik, Jennifer Kemp, Danny Luzon, Simone Stirner ($1,000)

2015-16:  Danny Luzon and Raphael Magarik, graduate winners ($1,000); Nathan Wexler, undergraduate winner ($1,000)

2014-15: Sheer Ganor and Danny Luzon, graduate winners ($2,000); no undergraduate winners selected

2013-14: Nicholas Baer and Anna Elena Torres, graduate winners ($1,000); Elijah Granet and Lisa Levin, undergraduate winners ($1,000)

2012-13: Noah Greenfied and Eyal Bassan, graduate winners ($1,000); no undergraduate winner selected

2011-12: Shira Wilkof and Celina Piser, graduate winners ($475); no undergraduate winner selected

2010-11: Alex Hendricks and Cameron McKee, undergraduate winners ($475); no graduate winner selected

2009-10:  Yosefa Raz, graduate winner ($475); Judah Mirvish, undergraduate winner ($475)

2008-09: Zehavit Stern and Benjamin Wurgaft, graduate winners ($475); no undergraduate winner selected

2007-08: No award given

2006-07: Noam Manor and Maya Barzilai, graduate winners ($475); Stephanie Robin Grossman, undergraduate winner ($475)

2005-06: Amos Bitzan and Samuel Thrope, graduate winners ($475); Rachel Wamsley, undergraduate winner ($475)

2004-05: Naomi Shulman, graduate winner; no undergraduate winner selected

2003-04: Lital Levy, graduate winner ($475); David Singer, undergraduate winner ($475)

2002-03: Benjamin Wurgaft and Lital Levy ($475)

2001-02: Rachel Havrelock, graduate winner ($475); Tara Sage Wilstein, undergraduate winner, ($475)

2000-01: Adriana Valencia, Lital Levy, and Lena Salameh shared $475 prize

1999-00: No award given

1998-99: Adriane B. Leveen and Lital Levy, graduate winners ($475); Jack Draper, undergraduate winner ($475)

1997-98: Gil Hochberg and Shachar Pinsker ($475)