Contact Us |  

Search form


Prizes and Honors / George Morey Richardson Latin Translation Prize

Description. The Richardson Latin Translation Prize is open to all UC Berkeley students. A first-place prize and second-place prize are awarded for the best translation of classical English into Ciceronian Latin. 

History of the Prize. The Richardson Latin Translation Prize was established through the will of George Morey Richardson of Berkeley, dated May 16, 1896: "I give and devise to The Regents of the University of California, two lots or parcels of land, situated in Highland Trust, Oakland Township, Alameda County, State of California, to expend the income therefrom or from the proceeds thereof, when sold, for an annual prize known as the 'Richardson Latin Translation Prize,' to be awarded to undergraduates (later to include graduate students) of the University of California for the best translation of classical English into Ciceronian Latin." The prize was established in 1896.

Please review the General Rules for Competitive Prizes.

Contest deadlines vary. Please check the Prizes and Honors home page for this prize's deadline.

George Morey Richardson Latin Translation Prize Passage 2017-18


Previous Winners

2016-17: 1st prize: Daniel Squire ($1,400)

2015-16: 1st prize: Michael Zellmann-Rohrer ($1,000); 2nd prize: Daniel Squire ($400)

2014-15: 1st prize: Michael Zellman-Rohrer ($1,000); 2nd prize: Tom Recht ($500)

2013-14: 1st prize: Michael Zellmann-Rohrer ($1,500)

2012-13: 1st prize: Jared Hudson and Michael Zellman-Rohrer ($750 each)

2011-12: 1st prize: Michael Zellman-Rohrer ($2,000)

2010-11: 1st prize: Jared Hudson ($1,500); 2nd prize: Thomas Hendrickson ($500)

2009-10: 1st prize: Jared Hudson ($2,000)

2008-09: 1st prize: Jared Hudson ($1,500); 2nd prize: Antonia Pham Young ($500)

2007-08: 1st prize: Jared Hudson and Boris Rodin ($1,000 each)

2006-07: 1st prize: Jared Hudson ($2,000)

2005-06:  1st prize: Wilson Shearin ($1,500); 2nd prize: Kurt Lampe ($500)

2004-05: 1st prize: Kurt Lampe ($2,000)

2003-04: 1st prize: William Michael Short ($1,500); 2nd prize: J. C. Geissmann ($500)

2002-03: 1st prize: William Short ($2,000)

2001-02: 1st prize: Jon Christopher Geissmann ($1,000)

2000-01: 1st prize: Dylan Sailor ($1,000)

1999-00: 1st prize: Dylan Sailor ($1,000); 2nd prize: Amir Baghdadchi ($500)

1998-99: 1st prize: Dylan Sailor ($500)

1997-98: 1st prize: Dylan Sailor ($500)